11.5 C
New York

UFC Fight Night 236 Update: Two Bouts Undergo Changes

Published:

UFC Fight Night 236 has undergone a couple of changes just a
few days before the event.

Melsik
Baghdasaryan has withdrawn from a proposed featherweight clash
against Hyder Amil
due to injury and will be replaced by Fernie
Garcia. Meanwhile, visa issues have removed Albert
Duraev from a middleweight showdown against Robert
Bryczek. As result, Ihor
Potieria will step in on short notice and face Bryczek.

The Las Vegas-based promotion announced the new matchups on Tuesday. UFC
Fight Night 236 takes place at the UFC Apex in Las Vegas on
Saturday and is headlined by a middleweight duel pitting Jack
Hermansson against Joseph
Pyfer. The card streams in its entirety on ESPN+ with prelims
beginning at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT followed by the main draw at 7
p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.

Garcia has dropped his first three promotional appearances — all
via decision. In his last outing, the Fortis
MMA product fell to Rinya
Nakamura on the scorecards at UFC Fight Night 225.

Amil is undefeated in eight professional outings and is coming off
a unanimous decision triumph over Emrah
Sonmez on
Dana White’s Contender Series this past August.

Potieria has lost three of four Octagon appearances since earning a

UFC contract on the Contender Series. Most recently, the
27-year-old Ukraine native suffered a second-round TKO loss to
Rodolfo
Bellato at UFC on ESPN 52 on Dec. 2.

Poland’s Bryczek will take a five-bout winning streak into his
Octagon debut. The seven-time Oktagon
MMA veteran owns a 17-5 career mark, with 11 of those triumphs
coming by way of knockout or technical knockout.

Related articles

Recent articles

spot_img