13.4 C
New York

Derrick Lewis, Rodrigo Nascimento to Headline UFC on ESPN 56 in St. Louis

Published:

A heavyweight clash pitting Derrick
Lewis against Rodrigo
Nascimento will headline UFC
on ESPN 56.

The Las Vegas-based promotion announced the booking on Saturday.
UFC on ESPN 56 takes place at the Enterprise Center in St. Louis on
May 11. The main card airs on ESPN and ESPN+ at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m.
PT, while prelims stream on ESPN and ESPN+ beginning at 4 p.m. ET/1
p.m. PT.

Lewis, the
UFC’s all-time leader in knockout victories with 14, has lost
four of his last five Octagon appearances. Most recently, “The
Black Beast” suffered a five-round unanimous decision loss to
Jailton
Almeida at UFC Fight Night 231 last November. Lewis’ lone
victory during his current slump came when he stopped Marcos
Rogerio de Lima in 33 seconds at UFC 291.

Nascimento is 4-1 with one no contest during his promotional
tenure. The
Dana White’s Contender Series alum’s current three-bout winning
streak includes split-decision triumphs over Tanner
Boser and Ilir Latifi
and a unanimous verdict against Don’Tale Mayes.

Related articles

Recent articles

spot_img